Skip to main content

Winchester 1887

Title:  Winchester 1887
Author:  William W. Johnstone & J. A. Johnstone
Pages:  352
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Pinnacle
My rating is 5 stars.
The story of the Winchester continues with the family named James Mann and the rifle given to him by his uncle which we read about in the previous novel Winchester 1886.  Here we see the young man called Jimmy leave during the night with his Winchester and the badge his uncle bequeathed to him in his pocket.  Now, in the light of day, his father sets out to bring him home after becoming aware of Jimmy’s absence. What he father encounters reveals his past before he got married and settled down.
All Jimmy wants to do is to be like his uncle James and become a law man.  From the moment he leaves his home danger lurks around every corner.  Jimmy, though single-minded, is definitely a green horn which is quite evident when he hops a train and runs smack dab into trouble!  From here on out the adventure begins, but so does the danger when Jimmy unknowingly hooks up with a whiskey runner in the Indian Territory!
In the era where life caused children to grow up very quickly and life being precarious is a characteristic of the old west.  I so enjoyed following the Mann family, learning about their life experiences and the how duty-bound Jimmy felt to follow in his uncle’s ways.  Another aspect of the book that I liked was the passing down of knowledge of how to live on the frontier and how to be a lawman.
I highly recommend both Winchester 1886 and Winchester 1887. If possible, read them consecutively as the tales will bring hours of enjoyment!  Keep on riding toward the setting sun partners!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  The above represents my opinion.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…