Skip to main content

The Prophetess: Deborah's Story (Daughters of the Promised Land)

Title:  The Prophetess
Author:  Jill Eileen Smith
Pages:  368
Year: 2016
Publisher:  Revell
My rating is 5 stars.
If you have ever read the book of Judges in the Old Testament, you would notice that the name of one of the judges was Deborah.  Readers can learn what Scripture says about her in Judges Chapters four and five.  Much is left to the imagination of the author and readers when it comes to Deborah.  In that period of Israel’s history, we learn how the Lord would raise a judge to lead His people, and then shortly after the death of that judge we see Israel quickly turning away from God.  In fact, one of the recurring phrases in Judges is “each man did what was right in his own eyes.”
Deborah sure bore her responsibility with faithfulness, though I am sure at times it was a burden.  Like any leader, some cases brought before her were easily settled while others were not.  In the novel, Deborah learned the Law of Moses and that was the standard of right and wrong; it brought wisdom to her decisions in the cases brought before her.
Deborah seems to me to be a woman whose heart wanted to do what brought God glory.  The frustration was in that she could not make or choose for others whether they would wholeheartedly follow God or a false god.  In the novel, she marries, raises children and leads Israel in war to bring about the end of an evil man, king and regime set against Israel.
I quickly became engrossed in the story of a woman who lived long ago in ancient Israel.  She is a heroine to me as she listened and waited for God to show her His will.  The way the author portrays her reminds us she was human; therefore, she made mistakes and had to learn from them like anyone else.  Our humanness sure reminds us that no matter what gifting we have been given it is for God’s glory and not our own.  There is no depending on the flesh, but total dependency on the Lord and the truth of His Word.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…