Skip to main content

Fire & Ice (Wild at Heart #3)

Title:  Fire & Ice (Wild at Heart #3)
Author:  Mary Connealy
Pages:  336
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Bethany
My Rating:  5+ stars.
There is a lot of emotion and tension throughout all three books of the series as the main storyline is how three sisters disguise themselves as men in order to fight in the Civil War.  In my opinion, the novels would be much more enjoyable if they were each read in order beginning with Tried & True, followed by Now & Forever before the series concludes with Fire & Ice.
Each novel is written by the same author who really has a way of bringing some surprises to readers somewhere in each book and sometimes more than one!  Here the story focuses on the eldest of three daughters of a widower who is less than a stellar father.  The daughter’s name is Bailey.  Her father, Cudgel, has the sole focus of building a dynasty though all three of his girls, though he masks it by saying it was for his son Jimmy who he lost in the war.
What is so enjoyable about the books is watching how God works in the heart of all three girls.  Though the sisters are very close to each other they are as different as day is from night.  Their personalities, likes, dislikes, lifestyles and more bring spice and sometimes laughter when all three are together.
During the winter months, these are the best kind of stories to curl up with underneath a warm blanket to read, share or give as a gift to someone you know.  It was fun seeing how each sister met her future husband and in such unique situations.  Please consider reading these books for yourself and maybe giving the books away so others can enjoy the stories too or keep them to pass on to the next generation in your family.

Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…