Skip to main content

The Goodbye Bride (A Summer Harbor Novel #2)

Title:  The Goodbye Bride (A Summer Harbor Novel #2)
Author:  Denise Hunter
Pages:  336
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Thomas Nelson
My rating is 5 stars.
The Callahan brothers are in a pickle with the ladies.  Mainly, it is Zach who is still in love with Lucy though she left seven months earlier.  Zac was really brokenhearted when out of the blue Lucy calls and asks him to come get her like it was just yesterday.  Lucy woke up in a wedding dress, with a lump on her skull in a totally different state than where Zac was living.  Problem was the last seven months she has no clue what happened and doesn’t even remember being engaged to a man named Brad.  Zac doesn’t want to go through that heartache again so he distances himself from her.  Beau, his older brother, was miffed that Zac went to rescue her.  When his brother serving overseas found out, he was beside himself with frustration as well.
The series begins in the first book, Falling Like Snowflakes.  For readers to truly appreciate the ongoing saga of the brothers it does help to read book one before book two.  I loved how the author shared with her readers some more of the various characters pasts to help us understand why they are the way they are.  Right now Lucy is on her own journey to try and live without remembering seven months of her life, starting over in a small town where everybody knows your business and she has no job or money.
There are a couple funny parts in the story that will cause you to chuckle I hope as it did me.  I love how going through healing from past hurts with God in prayer and a community of believers is represented.  I think one truth that could have been more prominent is the need to seek counsel from the Word of God, which wasn’t evident in the book.  However, the way God pursues us and loves us is a clear theme in the story.  Plus, the passion that can be real in a marriage is directly correlated to how open we are with God letting Him touch our hearts, minds and souls even when at times it is painful.  Even when it looks like it or feels like it, the truth is that God will never leave us or abandon us, which is a foundational truth portrayed in this series.
I hope you grab these enjoyable novels and allow the truths of God to soak your heart and soul, and enjoy the moments of laughter too!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…