Skip to main content

Remember Me (The Hawk and the Dove #6)

Title:  Remember Me (The Hawk and the Dove #6)
Author:  Penelope Wilcock
Pages:  207
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Lion Hudson
My rating is 4 stars.
In this sixth installment of this wonderful series of life in a medieval monastery, the story focuses on the person of Father William de Bulmer.  In prior books, we have met this man and found him to be an arrogant, antagonistic and haughty man.  Since coming to live at St. Alcuin’s, however, he has really made strides in accepting his new role as not being in charge, more humble circumstances and humbling himself.  He has grown to accept his role as monk, working with the monastery’s financial accounts and he is good at his job.  On the other hand, Abbot John is finding his new position a bit daunting as he has gone from being in charge of the infirmary to being in charge of the entire monastery.  He has only held this position for about three months and has the personalities of over thirty-five people to deal with along with their jobs, emotions, the finances of the community and now Father William’s love life!
What Father William didn’t count on was falling in love at the age of fifty and after being a monk for thirty years.  He finally realizes he is in love with Abbot John’s sister, Madeleine.  The story recounts his struggles to maintain his professed vows, which are supposed to last all of his earthly life and he really wants to uphold them.  At the same time, he has tried to stay away from Madeleine, renounce to God his love for her, but is unsuccessful.  He is bitterly unhappy and his health begins to suffer.  The other monks know something is wrong, but only Abbot John knows the reason.  He has ordered Father William to stay away from Madeleine, but can see Father William withdrawing more and more from the community.  What can Abbot John do?
If you haven’t read any other books in this series, then please begin with book one, The Hawk and the Dove and read the books in order as this is a continuing story.  Throughout the series readers will see the many struggles these monks face in life, showing us real human emotions and faults.  They show us that they are not perfect.  Even though they have dedicated their lives to serving Christ, they still feel anger, jealousy, compassion, mercy, love, and a whole host of other feelings.  It is how they respond to these emotions and situations that is most interesting and sometimes inspiring to me.  I’m looking forward to book seven in the series to rejoin these monks to see what they are up to next!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  The above is my opinion.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…