Skip to main content

The Hour Before Dawn (The Hawk and the Dove #5)

Title:  The Hour Before Dawn (The Hawk and the Dove #5)
Author:  Penelope Wilcock
Pages:  208
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Lion Hudson
My rating is 5 stars.
Readers are once again returned to the 14th century monastery of St. Alcuin’s in Yorkshire, England in this fifth entry of The Hawk and the Dove series.  Most of the characters from the prior four books make return appearances, but the story centers around Abbot John and Father William.
Abbot John has just been in his position as head of St. Alcuin’s for about a month when he receives devastating news that his mother has been murdered and his sister gang-raped.  These women lived together and were thought by some to be witches, but they were really healers and midwives.  The abbot is devastated by this news and is numb with shock.  He travels to see his sister with Father William as a companion.  His sister blames what happened on Abbot John for not being home to protect her and their mother.  The abbot struggles with an all-consuming guilt, Father William consoles, cajoles and finally sternly counsels the abbot.
As readers we follow the developing relationship between Father William and Abbot John as well as the abbot’s sister toward both of these men.  Also, along the way one of Father William’s monks from his former priory is found horribly disfigured.  Again, Abbot John takes on more guilt at not helping this monk the first time they met (in book four of the series).  Father William again must pull him from the black hole of despair.  Readers will also see Abbot John begin to gain assurance in his role as leader of the monastery.  He returns the favor of counseling when William is struggling with an issue.
Just as an FYI, I think this series should be read in order as the story continues from one book to the next.  The spiritual insight and truths shared are wonderful.  The author writes with great insight into human emotions and how Christ would have us live our lives.  The relationship between the monks shows mercy, compassion, jealousy, sadness, love and many other emotions we all experience.  Above all, readers see the monks trying their best to live life as Christ like examples.  I can’t wait to read book six titled, Remember Me.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  The above is my opinion.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…