Skip to main content

Faith (Quaker Brides #3)

Title:  Faith (Quaker Brides #3)
Author:  Lyn Cote
Pages:  384
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Tyndale
My rating is 5 stars.
Faith Cathwell has one main goal when she volunteers to be a nurse during the Civil War and that goal is to find her best friend Shiloh.  Shiloh is a free woman of color who was kidnapped five years before the war broke out and taken back to the South and sold as a slave.  Faith, along with Shiloh’s sister Honoree, searched when and where they were able to do so, but were limited by fear for their lives as Faith is an abolitionist Quaker and Honoree is a free woman of color.  Neither woman is safe alone in the South.  They see their chance to get geographically closer to the South by volunteering their services to the Union as nurses, so they find themselves serving in an army hospital very close to the battles.  They face disrespect and derision from many soldiers and doctors, but not all of them.  Faith meets Colonel Devlin Knight when he comes to her asking her to tend his wounded cousin.  He initially neglects to mention that his cousin is a Confederate soldier.
In return for her help, Devlin agrees to help her search for Shiloh.  As they spend time together on occasion, both begin to quickly fall in love.  However, Devlin keeps a slave and just knows he is going to die in this war.  Faith cannot tolerate slavery and doesn’t understand how Devlin can fight for the North, but still own a slave.  Despite their attraction to each other, they don’t see how there is a future for them.  Faith’s deep religious holdings are foreign to Devlin as he has distanced himself from God.  This is another obstacle for them to overcome.  As the war rages on the battlefield, so does the struggle within each of their hearts.
I have thoroughly enjoyed each story in the Quaker Brides Series and encourage readers to get all three books.  Each book can be a standalone story, but there are references to the prior stories.  If you are like me and like to do things in order, then start with book one so you can get the background and history from the get go.  I liked the setting and found reading about the Quakers very interesting.  The romance in each story was clean, and I found the fortitude of these Quaker women amidst persecution and the struggles of life two hundred years ago or more was inspiring.  The author has done her research, which made the story come alive for me as well as teach me something about this time period.  I can’t wait to see what Lyn writes next!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  The above is my opinion only.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…