Skip to main content

Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies #2)

Title:  Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies #2)
Author:  Heather Blanton
Pages:  366
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Create Space
My rating is 5 stars.
The story of three sisters Naomi, Rebecca and Hannah starts in book one titled, A Lady in Defiance and continues here in the sequel.  So far out of the two books, I really enjoyed Hearts in Defiance more, but I wouldn’t have if I didn’t have the background information on the characters or the town of Defiance.
The novels reflect the rough life and little choices many women had in the Old West.  There is also the other side of the story where women can become business women, and above all Christ followers seeking to save the lost who meet at the hotel on Sundays for service.  During the week the hotel also had a café.
In this installment, there is lots of danger, adventure, deceit and love!  However, there is so much more to the story.  I hope you enjoy reading both novels as much as I did in order to be prepared for book three titled, A Promise in Defiance.  I really enjoyed seeing the oldest, Rebecca, falling in love after being widowed for so long and then Naomi learning to temper her fiery spirit with wisdom.
This book ends on a cliffhanger and on the night of a wedding ceremony of all nights!  I hope the author continues to write novels that both capture the human sinfulness along with redemption, love reborn after loss and learning sometimes to humble oneself in order to help others meet the Savior.  I thought the author did a fantastic job too of showing that no matter how much one longs for a friend or family member to turn to Christ it can only be done by the individual.
So join me for a journey back to the Old West to a town called Defiance and be in store for many twists and turns in the story.  I hope you enjoy the adventure and great story telling shared!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…