Skip to main content

Joseph’s Dilemma (Return to Northkill #2)

Title:  Joseph’s Dilemma (Return to Northkill #2)
Author:  Ervin R. Stutzman
Pages:  338
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Herald Press
My rating is 5 stars.
Joseph is one of Jacob’s sons taken in captivity when the Indians attacked the Hochstetler family farm during the French and Indian War.  Based on true events and real people this second book focuses on how Joseph deals with his captivity while still with his father and then when he is separated from him.  Joseph is wrestling with his hurt and anger at his father for his not allowing either Joseph or Christian to use weapons to defend their home and lives.  As Joseph is tied up and led away from all he knows, he is a young man filled with sorrow, anger, hate towards his enemies and facing the unknown.
When Joseph is adopted by a Delaware widow to replace her lost son, at first Joseph is deciding to not become adapted to their lifestyle or beliefs.  Joseph fights with all that is in him from not eating the food offered him to having to be forced to have his Amish clothes torn away and then totally different attire placed on his person.
The only spot of light is the Delaware widow’s little daughter that Joseph comes to love and play with for the many years he lives with the family.  In time, Joseph does adapt to the new living situation though their beliefs are confusing and often polar to what he was raised to believe.  Joseph gets opportunities to share what he was taught by his father, and eventually has to decide whether to hold on to the Amish way or adopt another set of beliefs.
I loved how Joseph’s strengths came through the story like his compassion for the little girl and even as he grows older and considers marrying a young woman in the tribe.  The other interesting point in the story is how Joseph comes to understand why his father takes the stand he does and works right alongside others in the tribe, attempting to understand the people.  Again, like the first book in the series, Jacob’s Choice, this one also ends on a cliffhanger so I am glad to have the final installment in the series to read titled, Christian’s Hope.

I hope you take time to read all three books as they are fiction, but there are historical facts included in the tale along with the history of a real family who lived through the French and Indian War.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…