Skip to main content

Christmas Conspiracy (First Responders #6)

Title:  Christmas Conspiracy (First Responders #6)
Author:Susan Sleeman
Publisher: Love Inspired
My rating is4 stars.
Jake Marsh is a member of the First Responders Team, a law enforcement team specially equipped to deal with hostage situations, bombs/explosives and investigations.  They respond to a 911 call at a child day care center after the report of a masked man seen entering the facility.  They find the center’s director unconscious.  After recovering, the director, Rachael Long, can’t remember what her attacker looked like.  She remembers pulling off his mask, but that is all.
As the investigation gets underway, Rachael knows she is a suspect.  She doesn’t like it as she would never harm anyone let alone a child.  She soon realizes her attacker knows where she lives and doesn’t know she can’t remember what he looks like as he threatens her with increasing violent threats.  Jake takes her into protective custody for her own safety.  It becomes obvious that Rachael isn’t involved with her attacker, but the attacker seems to know a lot about Rachael.  Jake feels protective toward Rachael and wants her safe at all costs.  Rachael and Jake admit they have feelings for each other, but each has vowed to remain single for guilt-induced reasons, tying them to the past.

Here is another way to spend an exciting afternoon!  There is plenty of tension, suspense and drama packed into this little book.  Jake and Rachael have both fallen in the habit of giving their all for everyone else and denying themselves.  They have both dedicated their lives to helping people in dangerous or poor conditions.  Rachael’s faith has remained steadfast while Jake’s has not seen much use lately.  When the situation involves the heart, will they each trust God completely?  This is another easy gift for the Christmas season that will be sure to please.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…