Skip to main content

Christmas Undercover (Echo Mountain)

Title:  Christmas Undercover (Echo Mountain)
Author:  Hope White
Pages:  224
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired Suspense
My rating is 5 stars.
Will Rankin is a volunteer with the local search and rescue team.  He is out hiking one morning, trying to have quiet time with the Lord when he discovers an unconscious woman.  Upon rousing her, she socks him in the nose, giving him two black eyes and a bloody nose!  He realizes at once that she is scared and doesn’t trust him.  She keeps him at a distance even as he tries his best to help her with her injuries.  Soon he hears her story and understands why she fears for her life.  He makes a connection with her and wonders if she feels the same.  It happened so quickly he can’t understand his strong feelings for her.
Sara Vaughn is an undercover FBI agent.  She is working on a case that her boss told her to forget about, giving her a leave of absence.  Since she is on her own time, she decides to continue investigating the case on her own because she just knows she is right; all she needs is proof.  She gets her proof, but it might cost her big time.  In fact, it might cost this agent her very life!  She wants to trust Will as he makes her feel safe and protected, but is he one of the bad guys out to get her?  He is unbelievably good natured toward her when she is anything but nice.  She will have to make a choice to trust him or not.  Will she do so before the men responsible for her fall find them?
I really enjoyed the dynamics between these two characters.  Will has such a loving, generous and compassionate nature and is willing to show it.  Sara is tenacious, but vulnerable.  In the face of Will’s faith, Sara must confront her fears from the past.  He lives his faith daily and she sees this is what makes him the man he is.  This book is a great way to spend an afternoon inside in the comfort of the cool air-conditioning!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  The above is my opinion only.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…