Skip to main content

My Sister’s Prayer (Cousins of the Dove #2)

Title:  My Sister’s Prayer (Cousins of the Dove #2)
Author:  Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould
Pages:  366
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Harvest House Publishers
My rating is 5 stars.
Celeste Talbot is in love.  She leaves her family in England in stealth to meet her betrothed in the colony of Williamsburg in the year 1704.  He is a British soldier and has already left for the colonies, leaving Celeste to make her way on the next ship.  What Celeste doesn’t know is that her younger sister, Berta, is on the same ship!  After a rough sea voyage in which Berta almost dies, they arrive in the colonies.  However, in order to pay for their voyage, both women have had to sign indentured servant contracts.  The intent is for Celeste’s betrothed to buy her contract, destroy it and then marry.  When the women arrive in Williamsburg, they quickly discover Celeste’s fiancé doesn’t have the money to buy their contracts, so they are forced to work as servants.  Celeste faces many more trials and comes to depend on Spenser Rawling, who is an apprentice to a local carpenter.
Maddee Talbot and her younger sister Nicole have grown apart in recent years.  Nicole has chosen a path of drugs.  Maddee is a perfectionist.  Nicole is in a serious car accident and comes to recuperate at Grandmother Talbot’s home.  Grandmother is very wealthy and she has certain ideas about how things should be.  She hires an attractive physical therapist, Greg, to work one-on-one with Nicole.  Nicole is going crazy at her grandmother’s and begs her sister to let her finish her recuperation at Maddee’s house.  Maddee agrees as she longs to be close to her sister once again.  They also have some old letters from their Talbot ancestors to read, as well as try to make headway on the almost twenty year mystery brought to light over the summer (and covered in book one in the series).  There are two strange men hanging around Maddee’s house.  Nicole comes to depend on Greg as he helps Nicole recover.

I thought the parallels between the two sets of sisters and their respective romances were creative.  I would recommend reading book one in the series, My Brother’s Crown, first as it lays the groundwork for the present day portions of each book.  I liked the use of flashback to the Talbots Huguenot heritage.  I also appreciated that both elder sisters in the past and the present relied on God and His will, even though they made mistakes and poor choices as we are all prone to do from time to time.  Seeing both of the younger sisters realize their poor choices and maturing was also encouraging to read about.  The third book in the series, My Daughter’s Legacy, will be set in the present with flashbacks to the Civil War time period and I can’t wait to read that one!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…