Skip to main content

Hearing God through Biblical Meditation

Title:  Hearing God through Biblical Meditation
Author:  Mark Virkler
Pages:  176
Year:  2016
Rating: 4 stars
Publisher:  Destiny Image
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. 
My reason for requesting the book was to hopefully gain fresh perspective and encouragement in hearing from God daily.  I love His Word and hearing His voice in my heart, stirring my spirit so it draws closer to Him is the passion of my heart.  One tool to use in daily devotions is journaling by writing my thoughts, what God spoke to my heart, what He showed me in His Word, etc.
The author begins the book with being transparent about his walk with learning to hear and good counsel on discerning whether one is hearing from God or not.  Great Biblical counsel on how to discern the voice by using the Word of God and seeing if the words one hears in their heart is consistent with the character of God in the Bible are just two of the four words of wisdom when drawing near to God with a heart longing to hear and grow to love Him more.
Each chapter from then on focuses on a particular topic, then room for journaling, a Scripture to meditate on and questions to provoke our hearts and mind.  The goal of the book is to help us focus on one Person and hopefully as we draw closer to Him quiet the other thoughts that tend to try and distract us in our time with God.

As with any human counsel please use discernment, ask God for wisdom and see what fruit the counsel produces in your walk with your Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…