Skip to main content

God’s Generals

Title:  God’s Generals
Author:  Robert Liardon
Pages:  415
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Whitaker House
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from
In his sixth book, God’s Generals:  Martyrs, Roberts Liardon covers some of the martyrs of the Christian faith.  Roberts Liardon discusses martyrs such as Paul, Polycarp, Thomas Cranmer, and many others.  The book covers multiple martyrs spanning from the birth of Christianity to today over many parts of the world throughout time.  The author is very thorough in going through the events that show the persecution the church and missionaries have faced for centuries.  Throughout the book the author points out how martyrs are a good role model for grace under pressure.  Each section of the book covers a time period, and the martyrs discussed within each period in history are given a clear background into their lives and respective callings.
God’s Generals:  Martyrs is a book that comes at a critical time in the Christian Church; a time when Christians face persecution in places like China, Afghanistan, and Syria.  Robert touches on this topic right at the beginning of the book.  He emphasizes the fact that this persecution is, while terrible, something that provides an opportunity to show God’s love even to those that want to kill His messengers.  The book tells the historical facts of those believers who came before and gave their all to spread the Gospel and make a stand for truth.  God’s Generals is an important read for Christians today, giving us a clear and informative picture of those brothers and sisters that came before us, and the example they gave in their lives.  This book is a must read for anyone who wishes to expand their knowledge on Church history or wishes to learn more about martyrs of the faith.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…