Tuesday, January 31, 2017

In the Shadow of Denali (The Heart of Alaska #1)

Title:  In the Shadow of Denali (The Heart of Alaska #1)
Author:  Tracie Peterson & Kimberley Woodhouse
Pages:  320
Year:  2017
Publisher:  Bethany House Publishers
My rating is 5+ out of 5 stars.
First, let me say that this rating is not based on who the authors are, but on the story.  The authors go to great extent to share what is true historical fact along with what came from their imaginations.  Also, they include websites readers can access to gain further insight and a couple of hard print books as well.  I love the historical aspect because it isn’t just events, but people... who they are, what they accomplished and how they lived.  Also, the authors share updated information about the Curry hotel, lookout and the people who have lived there for so long a time.  It was very interesting and fascinating to read and remember that what happened in the story and in history was during WWI.
What I loved too was learning the name of the tribe that lived in the area and a man who worked to put their language in writing.  Alaska is a very intriguing place that someday I hope to visit as much of it isn’t touched by man.  I have read the other stories Tracie Peterson wrote that were placed in Alaska as well so when a new series was announced set in Alaska, I couldn’t wait to read them!  Kimberley Woodhouse has written a couple of novels as well and I believe they are set in Alaska too.  Together these two authors make a formidable well-researched team!
Here the story takes place in Curry, Alaska in the year 1917.  The characters are varied and interesting, especially Cassidy Faith who was based on a real, special, young lady known to the authors.  Cassidy’s character father is from Alaska and knows the language, people and area like the back of his hand.  He is the tour guide for the hotel.  The themes of faith, love and redemption are set alongside a novel rich with action, adventure and mystery.
I was so grabbed by the story that I ordered a copy of one book recommended by the authors to learn more from the men who actually climbed Mount McKinley.  Please take time to enjoy the fictional story and then read about the real people and times in Alaska’s history.  You will be extremely glad to have done so!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No comments: