Skip to main content

Maybe It’s You

Title:  Maybe It’s You
Author:  Candace Calvert
Pages:  448
Year:  2017
Publisher:  Tyndale
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
Maybe It’s You is the third and possibly final novel in the Crisis Team series.  The other titles in the series being, By Your Side followed by Side by Side.  Sloane is an ER nurse who is running and hiding from her past, trying to live with a new identity in the hopes that her past will not be revealed.  Sloane’s character is a compassionate, caring type who runs headlong into any situation without a forethought to her own life.  The biggest problem for Sloane, other than trying not to be found by dangerous people, is that for so long she has not allowed herself to become friends with coworkers or other people at AA meetings.
Sloane’s story is fraught with a plethora of highs and lows, action and danger, loneliness or perhaps true love.  She hates to look at people with caution and sometimes is afraid they are somehow connected with her ex-fiancé or of learning how she was living a life making a series of bad choices with serious consequences.  However, there is more to this character’s story for as you read the book you see her life may just contain hope and a faith in a God of His grace regardless of her mistakes.
As I read, there were parts where the suspense and tension were extremely palpable and kept me reading for hours.  The transparency that Sloane wanted to show or to live a normal life was only possible when she was alone.  The battle for her heart to believe that God loved her and extended His grace towards her was a truth she had to learn the reality of.  I think the author did a great job in the novel by reminding us there is more to a person than what we see on the outside; there is the heart. Plus, people are longing to know the reality of God’s love regardless of the mess they make of their lives and that it can be different!
There are, of course, antagonists in the story who tried repeatedly to thwart Sloane’s plans and her life.  Again, it reminds us that we all have those who don’t want us to succeed whether it is staying sober one day at a time, working in a field we love, or having faith in God.  Regardless, God pursues us and longs to redeem us from the burden of our pasts with all of the messes, and to make us brand new.  This is a great series of books that I highly recommend!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…