Tangled Webs (Men of Valor #3)

Title:  Tangled Webs (Men of Valor #3)
Author:  Irene Hannon
Pages:  368
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Revell
My rating is 4 stars.
This third and final novel in the Men of Valor series focuses on Finn McGregor, the youngest McGregor brother.  Finn has left the Army behind and needs some time to recover from a serious injury as well as psychological and emotional trauma from his years of service as an Army Ranger.  He has decided to take a month in a secluded cabin to think about his future and heal from his wounds.  What he doesn’t expect is that his Special Forces skills will come in handy as his beautiful next door neighbor becomes the victim of vandals and has someone spying on her.
Finn meets his neighbor, Dana Lewis, one night as he hears her screams.  He races to her rescue only to discover that she is having a nightmare and has left the window open and that is why he was able to hear her screams.  He soon discovers that Dana is very cautious around him and suffers from some deep wounds of her own.  She has left New York City and a top level job as a senior editor at a publishing company to work as a freelance editor in her grandparents’ cabin where she has many fond memories.  As she becomes the target of vandals, she can’t imagine why.  She keeps to herself and has made no enemies.  She and Finn quickly develop a friendship that they both know will lead to romance almost immediately.  As their romance deepens, the search for what is happening on and to Dana’s property escalates.  The local chief of police tries to get Dana to leave her cabin until the culprit is caught, but Dana refuses to leave.

The faith message isn’t real strong in this story, but readers do see both main characters believe in God and trust Him with their futures.  I thought this story focused more on the romance than the mystery, but I still enjoyed reading it.  I did like the police chief’s story and his search for a way to finance his wife’s health care.  I thought that was an interesting angle to the plot.  The three McGregor brothers’ bond was also a treasure in all three stories.  The way they cared for one another was touching and something positive to read about.  There will be a new romantic suspense series from this author called Code of Honor due to be released in the fall of 2017, which I plan on reading. 
Post a Comment