Skip to main content

The Cherished Quilt (AN Amish Heirloom Novel #3)

Title:  The Cherished Quilt (AN Amish Heirloom Novel #3)
Author:  Amy Clipston
Pages:  320
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Zondervan
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
The series starts with The Forgotten Recipe followed by The Courtship Basket with the final book to be released this year titled, The Beloved Hope Chest.  In the third book, The Cherished Quilt, we get to see the youngest of the Fisher daughters, Emily, learn to focus on her heart’s desires for once.  Emily has a servant’s heart and has encouraged, comforted and loved her two older sisters without any thought of her future.
When Emily meets Chris, who comes to work for her father and his uncle at the leather shop, she sees a very broken hearted man.  Chris seems so distant, cold and not wanting to make any friends.  Chris’ family lives in Pennsylvania and he has come to Ohio with the hope of starting life fresh after losing his youngest brother.  Emily intends forging a friendship with Chris in the hopes he will experience what a loving family unit resembles.
Throughout the series there is an element of a mystery surrounding Mattie Fisher and her hope chest. Mattie is the mother of three daughters who shares pieces of her past, but has yet to unveil a secret long hidden in the chest.  Each novel is filled with characters that seem lifelike and who deal with everyday life as well as some highs and lows in the community.
I hope that the fourth book will reveal the past Mattie has kept from her daughters even though readers have caught clues in the prior books.  Amy Clipston writes with depth in her characters and doesn’t elevate the Amish community as better or worse than anyone else.  These tales kept me reading for hours, entertaining as well as engaging my mind and heart.  I think it is best to read all books in order to gain a full appreciation of the plot and characters the author wove quite well!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…