Skip to main content

The Courtship Basket (An Amish Heirloom Novel #2)

Title:  The Courtship Basket (An Amish Heirloom Novel #2)
Author:  Amy Clipston
Pages:  320
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Zondervan
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This series starts with a novel titled, The Friendship Recipe. The oldest daughter of Fisher family, Veronica, deals with her grief by baking.  Through that endeavor Veronica overcomes her grief and falls in love again.  In this installment, Rachael Fisher is shocked and heartbroken when the man she was going out with for four years does the unexpected.  Rachael doesn’t think she can go on with her heart in shreds and now with time on her hands what will she do?
Rachael becomes a school teacher in a small class that is meant to help kids who need extra help with their various studies.  What happens next is a story of a heart mended, faith, family and a woman’s love for a man who thinks no one could ever accept him.  Each novel in the series has an element of mystery in it as another piece is revealed as to why the mother in the Fisher family keeps her hope chest locked at all times.  Little by little her daughters are finding clues of something that happened their mother’s past, but she refuses to tell them.

These Amish stories don’t highlight the Amish life while downplaying the non-Amish and I like that aspect.  I like it that characters reflect real people who have to deal with all aspects of life, both good and bad, joy and sorrow, tragedy and triumph.  Amy Clipston is a new author for me and I plan on reading more of her books in the future as her stories explore life, faith and family.  The next book in the series is titled, The Cherished Quilt, and is available in stores now.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…