Skip to main content

Beyond Suffering Bible (NLT: Where Struggles Seem Endless, God’s Hope is Infinite)

Title:  Beyond Suffering Bible (NLT: Where Struggles Seem Endless, God’s Hope is Infinite)
Author:  Joni & Friends, Inc.
Pages:  1696
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Tyndale
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
What makes this Bible different from others already on the market?  It was the first question I asked myself when Tyndale looked for people willing to do some specific tasks.  The goal of the tasks I think was to help people know what was included aside from the Word of God in the NLT and to have time to let God speak to individual hearts as they read.
For me, another thought was that we all suffer in some way; some suffering is more easily identifiable than others.  For example, we see someone with a cane and can tell there is a probable physical ailment whereas if someone has cancer, that isn’t as easily seen especially at first.  One of the benefits I got from reading some of the articles included was understanding how some people suffer through their eyes, which I had neither experiential knowledge nor understanding.  Another benefit is reading through the User’s Guide to help know how the extra material was formatted.
Here is a quote as to why this Bible is available:  “The Beyond Suffering Bible is for people who want to understand what it looks like to think and live like a Christian in the midst of suffering.” (pg. A11).  There are also included aids like “Connection Points”, Topical Guide to Features” that point to topics or an aspect of God’s character for people to look up, read and contemplate.
As a former caregiver, reading through the articles, features and notes in this Bible, I can see where it would be helpful to have this reference with the scriptures when going to help, comfort, or sit with someone who is hurting.  Caregivers suffer too in various ways that at times are hard to verbalize at the moment or be able to read even when a task which was hard for me.  I would read a Bible verse or passage but be unable to comprehend it or apply it; this Bible would have helped.
Ultimately, in my life I have learned that waiting until the Holy Spirit leads and how He wants me to do or not do something is imperative.  Also knowing the Word but just speaking it because silence was uncomfortable has been a big learning curve.  Sitting down next to someone who is hurting and just being there brings comfort in a way I cannot describe; in many ways it’s a mystery to me.  Other times when a person has shared a Scripture verse as I went through a hard season was like a cold drink of water on a really hot day.
The bottom line is there is no one way to approach or help those who suffer; we must let the Spirit lead us.  We must also be self-feeders on the Word daily so we can be ready should a call for help arise.  God will prepare you beforehand.  He has been faithful to me in that way more than I can express.  So, here is a Bible that will help all of us because it is God’s Word.  It will also help as we seek to be comforted in our daily life in any suffering we are experiencing or be ready to go and be what someone needs in their moment of pain.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…