Skip to main content

The Butcher of Bear Creek (Sidewinders #7)

Title: The Butcher of Bear Creek (Sidewinders #7)
Author:  William W. Johnstone with J. A. Johnstone
Pages:  329
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Pinnacle Books
My rating is 5 out of 5.
On New Year’s Eve, I was searching for a good western to get lost in.  While looking through my Johnstone collection, I choose a Sidewinders book.  I couldn’t put this action-packed, suspense-filled, western/mystery thriller down!  I got pulled into the story from the first page and was really surprised when later in the novel some aspects of the characters’ lives were revealed!
Bo Creel and Scratch Morton were returning to their old stomping grounds after being away for years to find themselves looked upon with dread and suspicion.  All either of them wanted to do was go visit their families on the farms, but the way they were received was anything but inviting.  Bo learns the reason for the looks and unwelcome actions of the townspeople that are due to the fact that Bo is suspected of two murders.
The longtime friends and partners can prove where they were though it would take time and the town is pumped for a hanging.  Bo is a believer in the law, but Scratch is afraid that the town will not wait till proof comes before they take matters into their own hands even though the sheriff swears to protect Bo.  I really found the story very captivating and entertaining.  There were hints of something else happening in the book, but exactly what it was the author cleverly veiled until the right moment!

Scenes were so well-described I could easily picture them in my mind and hear the action happening as if I was there observing.  There are eight novels in the series that can be read in order or as standalones:   Sidewinders, Massacre at Whiskey Flats, Cutthroat Canyon, Mankiller Colorado, Deadwood Gulch, Texas Bloodshed, The Butcher of Bear Creek and finally Bleeding Texas. Choose one or all of them and then settle down to good stories with lots of action, suspense and adventure!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…