Skip to main content

Zero Day (John Puller Series #1)

Title:  Zero Day (John Puller Series #1)
Author:  David Baldacci
Pages:  448
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Grand Central Publishing
My rating is 5+ out of 5 stars.
My first novel that I read from this author was a story in another series with the main character being a man named Amos Decker.  After I read those, I decided to try another series by the author and I am glad to share with you how fantastic this novel was to read!  The John Puller series I think is going to be just as thrilling and suspense filled as David’s other novels.
John Puller Jr. is in the Army CID.  When an Army Colonel is found murdered, he is tasked with solving the crime.  What at first appearance looks to be a somewhat hard and often trying case to solve turns out to be just the tip of the iceberg!  John ends up in a small town in West Virginia that looks like its dying a slow death, but what occurs thereafter is the uncovering of decades old trouble with new antagonists.  On top of that, John’s father is in a home being cared for because his mind is slowly losing ground and his brother is in jail for treason.
The author weaves a thriller that includes the military, local law enforcement, civilians and a government cover up.  The case could be the last one of John’s career as he isn’t getting help to find those responsible for the Colonel’s death and bodies are starting to stack up as John comes closer ever so slowly to the final piece that will expose the danger to America!

The next book in the series is titled, The Forgotten, which I cannot wait to start to see what case John will be working and where!  I hope you take time to really enjoy this suspense thriller because it is well crafted and there are surprises in the plot I never saw coming that were brilliantly inserted!  There is no sex in the book, which I am always grateful for and just some use of foul language.  However, the story is what will draw and keep your attention until the very last page and emotionally packed ending!  Read and see!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…