Skip to main content

A Viscount’s Proposal (The Regency Spies of London #2)

Title:  A Viscount’s Proposal (The Regency Spies of London #2)

Author:  Melanie Dickerson

Pages:  283

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Waterfall Press

My rating is 4 stars.

Edward, Viscount Withinghall has tried all his life to avoid scandal and life a pious life to try to redeem his family’s good name.  His father did his best to desecrate the family name and plagued the family with his wild ways.  Edward has vowed to be just the opposite.  He has his eye set on becoming the youngest Prime Minister of England.  He needs a proper, gentle, staid wife for her role in his career and life.  Leorah Langdon is definitely not the kind of wife he would ever consider!

Leorah Langdon flouts society’s rules that try to limit women.  She maintains her good reputation and virtue, but she isn’t afraid to speak her mind.  She meets Viscount Withinghall and thinks he is a stuffed shirt.  He thinks she is a hoyden.  They do not get along on a subsequent meeting.  Then, Leorah is out riding her horse alone, is thrown and breaks her wrist.  Edward happens to be driving by in his carriage and offers to give her a ride home.  During the trip home, Edward’s carriage overturns, his driver is killed, the horses run away, Edward breaks his leg and then it starts to rain.  Night falls and it is close to midnight before anyone discovers them.  Both of their reputations now are tainted with only one way to repair the damage.  What can they do?

While this was a good romance story, I wasn’t too sure what it had to do with spying.  There were attempts on one of the main character’s lives, but he wasn’t a spy nor was the mastermind behind the crimes a spy.  Other than that, I enjoyed the verbal sparring between Edward and Leorah.  The old saying of opposites attract is certainly evident in this story.  Two people could not be more different, but after spending some time together they both realize they have more in common than they originally thought.  Edward learns not to be so concerned with what people think and Leorah learns that not everything is black and white or that what resides on the inside what is revealed on the outside.  I am certainly looking forward to another book in this series!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…