Skip to main content

When Tides Turn (Waves of Freedom #3)

Title:  When Tides Turn (Waves of Freedom #3)

Author:  Sarah Sundin

Pages:  391

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Revell

My rating is 4 stars.

When Tides Turn is the third and final installment of the Waves of Freedom series from author Sarah Sundin.  The other two books in the series are Through Waters Deep and Anchor in the Storm.  This third story takes place beginning in July 1942 and ends August 1943.  The two main characters in the book are Dan Avery and Quintessa (Tess) Beaumont.  Dan is the older brother of Jim, one of the main characters in book one and Tess is the best friend of Mary, the other main character in book one.

Dan Avery has decided to be a career Navy man for as long as the Lord allows him.  He has also determined that women are a distraction from his firm resolve to work his way up the Navy ladder to become an Admiral one day.  He will not marry or take time away from his career, working seven days a week.  He is coerced to go on a few outings when his brother is home on leave and finds Tess a distraction because of her beauty.  He doesn’t encourage her to be interested in him and determines to stay away from her.  Then, he discovers she has joined the WAVES and will be working in the same office as he is working.  What will he do now?

Tess Beaumont is tired of being thought of as just a pretty face.  She wants to be liked for who she is on the inside.  She wants to have a purpose.  She decides to join the Navy WAVES and excels at her job.  She also has noticed her former roommate is acting a bit odd.  Her roommate is French and has been attending a group that supports French resistance against Germany.  With her odd behavior, Tess begins to wonder if she is a spy for the Germans.  Tess reports her suspicions to the local FBI office and they recruit Tess to continue to go to the meetings and report everything to them.  In the meantime, Tess fights against her attraction to Dan because she knows he wants to be married to the Navy.  She wants to do what is best for him, so she tries to foster a friendship instead.  Will this work?

This is a wonderful series for those interested in the WWII setting.  They mostly take place in Boston with occasional segments at sea.  The faith of the main characters’ shines through in each story.  Tess is a wonderful example of an encourager, which I admire, as that is not my forte.  I found the segments that took place on board ship very interesting and descriptive.  Stay tuned as a new series from this author will be launched in 2018!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…