Skip to main content

The Fix (Amos Decker Series #3)

Title:  The Fix (Amos Decker Series #3)

Author:  David Baldacci

Pages:  421

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Grand Central Publishing

My rating is 4 out of 5 stars.

Amos Decker is walking in front of the FBI headquarters in Washington, D.C. on his way to work when the guy in front of him pulls out a pistol, shoots a lady walking close by him, then turns the gun on himself, committing suicide.  Amos is an eyewitness and his team gets the case to solve.  The male victim works as a contractor for various agencies including the FBI, NSA and CIA.  The female victim is a substitute teacher at a Catholic school and volunteers at a hospice center.

Amos has also been upgraded to landlord of an up and coming neighborhood building remodel.  He and his friend Alex Jamison will be co-landlords and live in the building.  It is not in a good neighborhood right now, but hopefully that is going to change.  While working on the case, he must also deal with some local gangbangers who are harassing a tenant in the building.  As the two victims have their backgrounds investigated, the team uncovers far more than they could have imagined and the military branch of the DIA gets involved with their own investigator, who reluctantly agrees to work with Amos and his team.  As the team digs for clues, more and more danger from unknown enemies attempts to take Amos and his fellow investigators out of the picture for good.

This is a great story with lots of intrigue, danger and mystery.  I really like the character of Amos Decker.  He speaks his mind, sometimes to his detriment.  I like watching him solve mysteries and the questions he asks to get his brain the information it needs to process.  He is always ruminating on the various words people say, how they say it and what are the variations in meaning in what they say.  He goes over and over what has been said until something clicks and sends him down a path that hopefully will solve the case.  I would have given this book five stars, but there was a lot more cursing (including the f-bomb) in this story that I didn’t notice in the other two books in this series and for that reason I downgraded my rating.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…