Skip to main content

The Lost Order (Cotton Malone #12)

Title:  The Lost Order (Cotton Malone #12)

Author:  Steve Berry

Pages:  512

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Minotaur Books

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

Steve Berry is a new author to me whom I learned about through a friend who has enjoyed his other novels in the Cotton Malone series.  Now, I am hooked!  This author’s writings are well-researched and he keeps the reader’s attention with the history period setting of the story.  I loved the novel too as there was no sexual stuff in the book and the pace of the tale was gripping, making it hard to put down but easy to pick the story right back up when I wanted to read.

At the end of the book, the author explains which parts of his fictional work are factual and which parts are made up from his imagination.  The man who is known as Cotton comes from a line of men who have served the country and Cotton works for the Justice Department occasionally now after retirement.  No matter who is involved, Cotton goes after the truth and his best weapon is his very sharp intellect.

Cotton also has a girlfriend who has worked many cases with him whose name is Cassiopeia and together they are a formidable duo.  They know each other well and they are getting to a place where it might be time to consider a slower pace as their romance is blooming.  The story takes place at times in the Smithsonian Institute with a treasure missing since the Civil War and other artifacts.  There is danger, murder, intrigue, romance, history, politics, and more.

I was engaged from the moment I opened the book until I had to put it aside to take care of real life.  Yet, I couldn’t wait until the quiet of the late evening to again get lost in the many interactions between formidable characters and the search for gold that includes a key, maps, and avoiding those intent on getting to the gold first at all costs!

So, if you’re like me, and this would be your first novel by the author, I really think you will enjoy the book!  I plan on reading the other 11 novels in this series each with its own unique setting and historical facts with fiction that together make for a wonderful story!  Trust me, this novel will leave you wanting more from Steve Berry!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…