Skip to main content

The Passionate Preaching of Martyn Lloyd-Jones

Title:  The Passionate Preaching of Martyn Lloyd-Jones

Series:  Long Line of Godly Men Profile

Author:  Steven J. Lawson

Pages:  188

Year:  2016

Publisher:  Ligonier Ministries

My rating is 4 out of 5 stars.

Anyone who has read Hebrews 11 knows about the many who lived by faith in ancient times and in many various ways.  Then, Hebrews 12 tells us of being surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses previously described in chapter 11.  I began thinking about the men and women who have lived before me and how they were witnesses.  Hence, I began with Martyn Lloyd-Jones as I was familiar with some of his previous writings and feasted on the depth of insight into the richness of the Bible and the God of the Bible.

I learned a lot about this man’s personal life and how he influenced many in England and the United States of America.  He lived, preached, traveled and wrote prior to WWII until his passing in 1981.  This man was a trained physician who then became a great expositor and orator of Biblical truth.  I am amazed at his devotion to the Word for his own life and the influence he had over many people who heard him preach.  Dr. Lloyd-Jones’ writings are still available for our generation to read and glean truth from the Scripture as well as be challenged by the witness of the life he lived.

This small book will encourage, challenge and cause many to think of how we live now and can be used by God to make an impact upon others today.  We can follow this man’s example of placing our hearts and lives under the authority of the Scripture as well as learn to study it carefully so we may correctly handle the truths of The Word of God.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…