Monday, July 17, 2017

His Guilt (The Amish of Hart County #2)

Title:  His Guilt (The Amish of Hart County #2)

Author:  Shelley Shepard Gray

Pages:  268

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Avon Inspire

My rating is 4 out of 5 stars.

Waneta Cain and Mark Fisher work together at a local nursery.  Mark has returned after a two-year absence to his family’s home after the death of his father.  Mark’s younger brother has been gone from the Amish community for ten years, so Mark lives alone.  Mark is having a tough time being around most of the community because they still believe he is guilty of attacking a young Amish woman two years ago, even though the police declared him innocent.  He is now back and people seem to fear him or hate him.  Waneta Cain is no exception at first.  He knows she is afraid of him, so he keeps her at a distance.  He would like her friendship, but he will make it on his own if he must.

Waneta Cain is afraid of Mark at first, but quickly realizes she has found him guilty of a crime he didn’t commit so she extends the branch of friendship.  They begin a tentative friendship with Waneta defending Mark against verbal attack from a couple of her friends.  Then, a young woman is attacked and Mark is immediately suspected.  Waneta still believes in his innocence.  Then, another young woman is attacked and the police can’t seem to find any clues to the attacker.  Meanwhile Mark’s younger brother has returned to town and is in trouble with a gang.  He needs money and hopes Mark will sell the family home and split the proceeds.  Mark, however, has other plans for the home and his relationship with his brother remains abrasive.

My only negative about this story is that I wish it had more of a mystery element to it.  While there was a mystery in this story, it was fairly easy to figure out the culprit.  Other than that, I did enjoy watching the romance bloom between Mark and Waneta.  She seemed meek and mild, but when defending someone she cared about…look out!  She was strong in her defense.  Mark was a young man with a troubled and abusive past, but he tried his best not to abandon God like most of the people of the town had abandoned him.  He remained faithful to God and he received blessings.  These two characters had to learn to communicate with each other and not assume what the other was thinking.  A good lesson for anyone, myself included.  Book three in the series is titled, The Gift, and will be released in November 2017.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

No comments: