Skip to main content

Convicted: A Crooked Cop, an Innocent Man, and an Unlikely Journey of Forgiveness & Friendship

Title:  Convicted: A Crooked Cop, an Innocent Man, and an Unlikely Journey of Forgiveness & Friendship

Author:  Jameel McGee and Andrew Collins with Mark Tabb

Pages:  224

Year:  2017

Publisher:  WaterBrook

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

This book is about two men who came across one another at a store in Benton Harbor, Michigan.  One is a white cop and the other is a black man buying groceries for his son.  It is on this day (February 8, 2006), that Jameel McGee was arrested for something he didn’t do.  Andrew Collins is the cop who arrested him for possession of drugs with the intention to distribute.  Jameel is confused and angry about the unlawful arrest.  He was just at the wrong place at the wrong time.  He’s not some big-time drug dealer that the cops are after.  Collins is convinced that Jameel is a drug dealer and arrests him after finding dope in “his” car.  To ensure that another drug dealer is off the streets of Benton Harbor, Collins lies on his report and to the court about Jameel, sending him to prison for the next three years.

Angry and filled with a desire for revenge, Jameel McGee waits for the chance to pay back the cop who ruined his life.  But while in prison, Jameel is called by God to let go of his anger and that He’s got it. Jameel learns to let go of his revenge and his anger and after three years behind bars, he is set free. Collins faces the consequences for his unlawful actions.  He is caught with drugs that he had been using as extra evidence against drug dealers and gaining extra money for himself illegally.  He loses his job as a cop and soon afterwards is sent to prison for the next 18 months.

The two men are eventually reunited in Benton Harbor and from there they embark on a journey of forgiveness and redemption.  From that journey, they will learn about the power of forgiveness and grace that lets God back into their lives.  They will discover things about themselves and how no matter what storms come their way in life, God is always in control.

I would recommend this book to others because it is a powerful true story of forgiveness and redemption.  Because of our fallen nature, we tend to think we got this or we can fix that when life throws a curve ball at us.  We often fail to turn to God for help.  Sometimes the bad experiences we have are God’s way of testing our relationship with Him or getting us to come back to Him.  When we let our pride or our unwillingness to let God be in control of our lives, things go from bad to worse.  God’s grace works wonders in a person’s life when he or she is willing to forgive and ask God for forgiveness for all the hurt and the pain that has been done to them and the suffering they have caused others. Taking responsibility for these wrong actions takes a lot of courage and humility.  I would ask others to recognize that this isn’t just a true story about two men getting over what some people may call racial prejudice, but something much deeper than that, something spiritual.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…