Skip to main content

Crisis Shot (The Line of Duty #1)

Title:  Crisis Shot (The Line of Duty #1)

Author:  Janice Cantore

Pages:  432

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Tyndale

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

In the first book of a new series for the author, we meet a young policewoman who is a commander working in Long Beach when she becomes involved in a police shooting.  Tess is a second-generation police officer whose father died years prior in the line of duty.  Throughout the novel, what entertained me was reading Tess’s various rules she has collected over the years from her dad’s wisdom and her learning experience.

Now, due to the press and a certain blogger who is out to smear Tess’s reputation, Tess must find a police job elsewhere.  But who would hire someone with all the bad press and think Tess capable of doing a good job?  When Tess relocates reluctantly to what seems like a peaceful and low-key town without problems, quickly morphs into something totally different than Tess expected!

I have read most of Janice’s books over the years and each one is not just entertaining, but also a journey in faith for the characters in law enforcement.  In this story, there is a pastor who is a humble man who even when suffering terrible heartache who is right there ministering to people he knows.  I fell in love with this character as he faces some heart-rending trials, and though he hurts like any other human being he still reaches out.  When others in the town learn of how he is hurting, they come from everywhere to support him in his time of need.  A true picture of people being the hands, heart and feet of the Messiah in action.

I highly recommend if you haven’t read any of Janice’s books that you grab an opportunity to do so and get ready for the next installment in the series coming out probably in 2018!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…