Skip to main content

Meet Author Carol J. Post & her Cedar Key series Part #1

I love discovering fun, new places. Many years ago, my husband and I were sailing in the Suwannee area off the west coast of Florida and needed to come in to get gas and restock supplies. It looked from the chart as if the closest place to do so would be Cedar Key.

Even though we’ve lived in Florida most of our lives, we’d never heard of Cedar Key. When we sailed into the Cedar Cove Beach and Yacht Club, we were immediately impressed with the friendliness of the people. We learned that gas was on the other side of the island, but instead of sending us on our way, a local gentleman insisted on loading our portable gas tank into his golf cart and driving my husband there.

When I decided I wanted to write a series of books set in a quaint island community, I knew Cedar Key would be perfect. The second oldest city in Florida (behind St. Augustine), it has an artsy, “Old Florida” air. It’s the home of several festivals each year, including the Cedar Key Art Festival in the spring and the Seafood Festival in the fall. There’s even an annual Pirate Invasion Weekend, which comes into play in Hidden Identity. So does the Cedar Keyhole Artist Co-op, a gallery that showcases a wide variety of work by local artists.

Research for this series has been a pleasure. Everyone I’ve talked to has been eager to help. Since I write suspense, the police station is always on my “must visit” list. My first time there, Chief Sandlin took me into his office and patiently answered all my questions, even coming up with possible scenarios to clarify his answers. Although I’ve set five suspense stories there, Cedar Key is actually an extremely safe little town. (All my bad guys come from somewhere else!)
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…