Skip to main content

Fire of the Raging Dragon (Pacific Rim Series #2)

Title:  Fire of the Raging Dragon (Pacific Rim Series #2)

Author:  Don Brown

Pages:  381

Year:  2012

Publisher:  Zondervan

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

Stephanie Surber is serving as a junior naval officer aboard a submarine tender that suddenly is embroiled in a conflict involving Taiwan and China.  Her ship is the first on the scene of the conflict that began when China invaded a small island manned by Taiwanese forces.  China took over the island because of the natural gas abundancy.  Taiwan sends forces to retaliate and the U.S. sends the closest available naval forces to intervene in the hopes of preventing escalation to war.  Stephanie’s ship is sure to see action.  The only problem is Stephanie is removed from the ship so she won’t face danger as her father is the President of the U.S.

Gunner McCormick returns from book one and in this tale, he is advising on the relationship between China and Taiwan, where various U.S. forces are positioned and he is sent to retrieve the President’s daughter.  However, on the way, his chopper has a problem that leaves Gunner promising to God that he will make changes in his life if God will get him out of his current situation.

There is also a Chinese civilian tanker transporting medical supplies as well as ammunitions to the small island to re-supply the Chinese forces.  The first mate is curious about these supplies and opens one of the crates in the cargo area of the ship to make a terrifying discovery.  He is unsure what to do with his discovery, but before he can do anything definitive his ship is intercepted by Taiwanese helicopters and given an ultimatum.  If others find out what is on board ship, what disaster might be unleashed?

For those who like suspense with a military focus, this series is for you.  I don’t have much familiarity with the military, but I have thoroughly enjoyed the first book, Thunder in the Morning Calm and now this second book.  The plot is action-filled and will grab the attention from the get-go.  I have liked learning about the military and in layman’s terms how it operates in general.  The setting and conflicts could be taken from front page headlines today, making it current and interesting.  The author writes with a great deal of knowledge and insight into the workings of the military, which made the story more realistic and believable for me.  I look forward to book three, Storming the Black Ice, soon.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…