Skip to main content

Jesus the Jewish Theologian

Title:  Jesus the Jewish Theologian

Author:  Brad H. Young

Pages:  344

Year:  1993

Publisher:  Baker Academic

My rating 4 out of 5 stars.

In searching for a deeper understanding of Yeshua, the Bible, and its Jewish flavor, I enjoyed another of the author’s books so I thought this one might be just as helpful in my searching.  I can say that without exception it really helped me understand in new ways who Jesus was and is, the Jewish listeners of the first century and a deeper understanding of the words of scripture.

Some of what Brad shared were new insights that broadened my view and deepened my understanding of what Jesus spoke.  For me, it also helped remove some of my western thoughts to put the Bible back into its historical context as well as how the listeners would have understood what Jesus said.  Of course, in some ways the author includes conjecture or assumptions as to what someone thought, but those I just read and took them as his opinion not necessarily as fact.

What made the book most enjoyable was discussing it with a friend; it was fun to see what each of us thought, understood, agreed with or disagreed with, and at times what challenged our long-standing views.  I love books that challenge me to think, rethink and be able to defend why I believe what I do or be willing to adopt new views based on what I am learning.  One of the gifts my parents bestowed upon me was a love of learning.  What Jesus bestowed on me was a love to draw nearer to Him.

I highly recommend Brad’s book for a book club, Sunday school class, small group, or just for a person to read alone.  Just know that it will challenge you, excite you, ignite a fire for more understanding of the Master Jesus we follow!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…