Skip to main content

From Fields of Promise

Title:  From Fields of Promise

Author:  Rebekah Colburn

Pages:  370

Year:  2017

Publisher:  CreateSpace

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

I love reading historical fiction, though I have a few favorite timeframes, events, and authors I enjoy.  What about you?  Well, let me introduce you to an author who wrote Fields of Promise where two characters from two prior novels, On Grounds of Honor & For the Cause of Freedom, become the central players in this tale set in the aftermath of the Civil War.  Other characters from the books mentioned above also make appearances, but the story’s central focus is on Mariah and Isaac. 

Mariah became a widow shortly before the war ended, and Isaac came home to find that his wife had acted in an unseemly way while he was away.  Both have broken hearts and a future that holds no promise.  They own nothing and are dealing not just with broken hearts but ghosts from their pasts that crop up often, causing them to relive painful memories.

While Isaac is there to help Mariah save the family farm, other issues make living each day a challenge.  What neither of them expected, wanted or planned for happened when they weren’t looking.  What is it that happened?  I will leave you to discover it when you read the book.  I enjoyed how the author in her notes after the story shares her reason and hope in writing the book.

I found myself engaged in the scenes described and my heart tugged and pulled in the tale.  The story shares hope after devastation, perseverance after multiple obstacles enter the characters’ paths, and the ultimate love of God woven throughout the novel.  Each of her three novels I found fascinating and time flew as I kept turning the pages long into the night.

So, if you’re looking for some solid stories to give or receive this holiday season, look no further because Rebekah’s novels more than fit the heart!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…