Skip to main content

Macy Author: April McGowan

Title:  Macy

Author:  April McGowan

Pages:  262

Year:  2014

Publisher:  WhiteFire

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

What a unique story that unfolds within these pages!  There are a multitude of heart-touching interactions between the main character, Macy, beginning with her husband and family.  Macy is abandoned in a diner when her husband leaves her because she has refused to relinquish the life growing inside her.  My heart was pulled as I read what happened with and to Macy as she begins trying to build a life with nothing to her name.

The novel points out how women in abusive marriages can slowly find a new life until they are able to decide what the future may hold for them.  Macy, while not physically abused, was certainly emotionally abused, as well as having her mother’s hand in her marriage along with how controlling Macy’s husband was in keeping her from knowing anything outside of what he revealed.

The theme of struggling with believing in God during these times while learning to forgive by showing just how hard it can be to do and yet freeing at the same time was an amazing aspect to the book.  Many other characters are introduced in the story I think to show how people can lend a helping hand to women who find themselves in the situations they are in.  Plus, I loved how the author ends the book with the ultimate theme of hope that God alone can restore to a broken heart and life.

I don’t want readers to think this is a downer novel; it isn’t.  It is gripping, but doesn’t pull the reader into the depths of pain.  Readers will be touched by what they read by what others do to help Macy, and above all how God can work miraculously and wondrously when we relinquish trying to fix our problems on our own.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…