Skip to main content

On Grounds of Honor (My Brothers Flag #1)

Title:  On Grounds of Honor (My Brothers Flag #1)

Author:  Rebekah Colburn

Pages:  332

Year:  2015

Publisher:  CreateSpace

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

Whether it is referred to as The War Between the States or the Civil War, this tale is captivating.  If you love to read historical fiction, this book is one you’ll enjoy!  The characters’ family name is Turner with the father, two grown sons and a large farm in Maryland.  The Turners work hard each day from sunrise to sunset when the growing rumble of war edges closer to intruding upon the family’s life.

The Turner sons, Jeremiah and Charlie, have opposing views about the War.  Their father urges calm, taking no part in dividing the family let alone the nation.  However, soon it becomes apparent that the family can no longer live day-to-day as if the war is somewhere far away.  Jeremiah is married to Clara and soon enlists.  Clara must learn how to live without her husband, trying not to fear losing the love of her life and keep the home fires burning.

Charlie has been gone from the home and the family has little knowledge of where he is.  All they feel they can do is pray for him daily.  The author really drew me into this well-written, heart-gripping tale of a torn family, a lonely wife and father.  Clara has her family close by and there are things occurring there that cause Clara’s heart to break.  I have read many stories placed during this timeframe and each is unique; this one is no exception.

Audiences will find themselves engrossed and engaged in the family trials and that of the soldiers as they await battle or are engaged in the thick of gun smoke.  The ending of the tale is written with both heartbreak and hope that to me is realistic.  Read On Grounds of Honor and don’t be surprised if you find yourself burning the midnight oil continuously turning pages!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…