Skip to main content

Seaside Secrets (Pacific Coast Private Eyes)

Title:  Seaside Secrets (Pacific Coast Private Eyes)

Author:  Dana Mentink

Pages:  219         

Year:  2016

Publisher:  Love Inspired Suspense

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

As a reader, do you ever look for something to read that is quick but exciting to read?  I enjoy the many different stories and authors in the Love Inspired Suspense books.  These books include romance, action, adventure and more.  They are small enough to carry around and short enough for when a quick read is all one desires.  I picked up Dana’s book recently from my personal library collection as the picture and the series, Pacific Coast Private Eyes, is about a diverse family who endured tragedy and came from various careers to keep their father’s company operating.

In this installment, we read Navy Chaplain Angela Gallaher’s story about serving overseas and coming home on leave to see if her shattered life and faith can be restored.  While in the town of Cobalt Cove, taking time to face her personal struggle with PTSD, she meets Dr. Dan Blackwell who also served overseas in the same area.  He is recovering from a serious hand injury and unsure if he will ever return to the operating room, because all he can remember are the names of those whom he couldn’t save.

Now, with two threads of the tale going on, another one is added when Abigail’s twin brother nicknamed Tank, contacts her for reasons she has yet to understand.  While she understands her family business is being private eyes, she also knows she isn’t ready to enter that world until she can face her own demons.  Soon, the mystery of Tank’s contact turns into a deeper mystery involving many more characters in the story and discovering nefarious actions going on in the local hospital.  Along with a couple of antagonistic brothers who appear to people as one thing, but might be something altogether darker once the layers are peeled back from their lives.  What else is happening in the shadows of the beauty of Cobalt Cove?  Grab a copy and discover for yourself.

I highly recommend the whole series as Dana Mentink does a fabulous job of weaving a gripping story right from the first page!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…