Skip to main content

An Arizona Christmas

Title:  A Place At Our Table (An Amish Homestead Novel)

Author:  Amy Clipston

Pages:  336

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Zondervan

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

Amy Clipston is one of my favorite Amish authors as her stories have real substance to them!  The author tells a tale that really at times caused me to inhale as I didn’t see where she was taking the characters.  Some of the time it was heart-wrenching what the people were dealing with such as grief, loss, guilt and more.

The main character that stuck out to me was Jamie Reihl, a young man who had so much on his plate.  Jamie is a volunteer firefighter and helps run his father’s growing dairy farm, which truly doesn’t leave Jamie much of a social life.  When his mother suddenly is no more, Jamie can’t seem to right the world under his feet.  On top of that, some of the family dynamics make the grieving period much more difficult to walk through.

Kayla is a young Amish woman in the same community who knows how Jamie is feeling, but because of different experiences.  In fact, Kayla’s whole family longs to minister to Jamie, if he would only open is his heart to the truth of what happened and believe God can make beauty from ashes.

Amy writes stories that deal with real life issues and doesn’t make the Amish community appear perfect nor the people living there perfect either.  I hope you read this novel and some of her others if you like stories that can reflect real life, people, events, faith and so much more.  There is to be a second installment to the series titled, Room on the Porch Swing coming out in May 2018, and I for one will be reading it as soon as I can get my hands on a copy!

I hope you join me in the continuing adventure in the Homestead Amish series!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…