Friday, February 9, 2018

Oath of Honor (Blue Justice #1)

Title:  Oath of Honor (Blue Justice #1)

Author:  Lynette Eason

Pages:  362

Year:  2018

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

Isabelle St. John, or Izzy, is one of six children, most of whom are involved in law enforcement.  Her mother is the Chief of Police and her father is a lawyer.  She has been raised around the law and God her whole life.  Her neighbors are the Marshalls and they also have two sons on the police force.  She has grown up with the Marshall boys and the youngest is Kevin, her partner on the force and a rookie.  While on a stakeout, Kevin make an impulsive decision that costs him his life.  Izzy has lost her partner and best friend.  Ryan, Kevin’s older brother, now grieves a second brother’s death as his older brother died from an IED deployed by terrorists.

Izzy and Ryan work to find the identity of the shooter and discover there is much more going on than meets the eye.  Izzy’s name is on a list with other cops, and one of her brothers asks her if she is a “dirty cop”.  Who compiled this list?  Are the other cops “dirty”?  One brother won’t return her calls or texts, but has said he is working undercover.  However, her mother, the Chief of Police, has no knowledge of an undercover operation.  So, what’s up with him?  There is a political race for mayor happening at the same time as Izzy’s investigation.  Izzy’s friend is involved with the challenging competitor’s campaign, but something seems different about her.

Lynette Eason has written another stellar beginning story for her new series!  There is plenty of action and tense-filled moments for the reader who likes suspense.  There is also a mystery for the mystery lover, as well as a romance for the romantic.  Izzy has grit and perseverance to find her partner’s killer.  Ryan shares that same determination to find his brother’s killer.  Both characters have a strong faith in God that they must rely on as they cope with their grief.  Lynette has an ability to weave the faith of her characters into the story seamlessly, and shows them living their faith not just talking about it.  This is a tale that will have readers turning pages quickly to see what excitement awaits them!

No comments: