Skip to main content

Yuletide Jeopardy

Title:  Yuletide Jeopardy

Author:  Sandra Robbins

Pages:  216

Year:  2013

Publisher:  Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

Alex and Grace became friends at the age of ten, but now they can’t stand to be in the same room together.  They remained friends until college when they began dating.  Their senior year in college Grace received an opportunity for a job away from Memphis.  Alex loved Memphis where they both grew up and didn’t want to leave.  Grace chose her job and they broke up, leaving them both bitter and angry with each other.

Grace has now moved back to Memphis to help her mother take care of her father who was shot in a drive-by shooting, leaving him paralyzed from the waist down.  During his recovery, her father turned to Jesus as well as his wife and Grace.  Grace is working for the local TV station as a news anchor.  She receives a phone call from the police asking her to go to the Memphis-Arkansas bridge as there is a man threatening to jump unless she shows up.  What Grace doesn’t know is that the man has also asked for Alex to show up.  Grace arrives and the man turns out to be the father of a boy she dated in high school.  The man claims his son was murdered twelve years ago and had not committed suicide.  He asks Grace and Alex to discover the truth.  Grace promises to do so.

As Alex and Grace are forced to work together, they agree to try to be friends.  An anonymous caller sends them on a chase for clues.  The more clues they get, the more the danger to Grace and Alex increases.  Attempts are made to scare them and then to kill them.  Who is behind these attempts?  Was there really a murder 12 years ago or was it suicide?
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…