Skip to main content

Mountain Homecoming

Mountain Homecoming

Title: Mountain Homecoming
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  304
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Harvest House
My rating is 4 stars.
Mountain Homecoming is the sequel to Angel of the Cove in Sandra Robin’s Smokey Mountain Dreams series.  In book 2 the year is 1914 and Rani has become a grown woman in search of what God has planned for her life as well as what He has gifted her to do.  Granny, everyone calls her that in the Cove lives with the Martin family.  At one time she was the midwife and doctor to many mountain folk in times past, now Anna Martin is the midwife and calls on the Dr for other medical needs of the people who live in the small secluded Tennessee Cove area.  Samuel Martin is the preacher and a man who adores his wife Anna and there grown living children. 
The railroad company has wanted to purchase the timber on the Cove land which has set Rani’s blood to boil because of her love for the land.  Matthew Jackson left twenty years ago with his mother and younger brother, he now returns alone in the hopes he can settle down and lives where his heart has always been.  With time passing Matthew believes himself to be in love with Rani, but George is fiercely jealous over any man giving Rani attention.  The path George takes is one that leads to heart ache and danger, will he return to the faith he once lived and find healing for his broken past?
One of the main ideas I came away with is how God longs to forgive us and love us but we seem to want to make coming toward Him harder than it is.  The other thought was how each person must learn to listen for the still small voice of God and follow where He leads.  I love stories like this that encourage the heart, and remind us of the truths the gospel holds out to anyone who would grab hold of them.
The story is very much like real life where there is heart ache, looking for love, discerning God’s voice compared to our own or others.  The scene of the novel is set in the Smokey Mountains and at times I could picture in my mind what the author was painting with words.  There is gratitude in the characters lives for how God works, provides, speaks and creates.  Some of the characters lives remind us to be thankful daily and enjoy what He has blessed us with.
Sitting back and enjoying a novel is a blessing I do enjoy and thank the author for sharing her gift with many people.  I am hoping there will be more novels coming from this series as the story ends with what is a new chapter in the lives of newlyweds.  There are also new lives among some characters, not all however end happily, another authentic point of the tale.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…