Skip to main content

Plain Danger (Military Investigations)

Title:  Plain Danger (Military Investigations)

Author:  Debby Giusti

Pages:  224

Year:  2016

Publisher:  Love Inspired Suspense

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

One of the advantages of reading Love Inspired Suspense books, for me, is they are short enough to finish in a day and they are very entertaining to read!  Another advantage is that even when in a series most of them can be read as stand alone.  Debbi Giusti is a new author to me and writes with one foot in the military and another in the Amish community.  Then, she weaves threads of her stories that connect both worlds.

In Plain Danger, the main character, Carrie York, arrives in a small Amish community to meet with her father’s lawyer to inherit a house and land.  The hard part for Carrie is she wasn’t allowed to connect with her father when he was alive, and her mother told her things about her father that are turning out to be lies.  Now, it seems that a killer thinks Carrie possesses a map that is supposed to lead to treasure buried on the land.

CID Agent Tyler Zimmerman is assigned to protect her when it becomes apparent that somehow the threat ties into her fathers’ life of service.  Tyler though isn’t sure he quite trusts Carrie because of the man she works for in Washington as a speech writer.  The past is coming to make both Carrie and Tyler face it with breakneck speed!  On top of that, the face a budding romance that neither of them wants one moment only to possibly desire it the next.

This is a very good thriller!  I love the weaving of Amish and military as Debbie crafts her books, which I highly recommend.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…