Tuesday, May 8, 2018

The Fallen (Memory Man Series #4)

Title:  The Fallen (Memory Man Series #4)

Author:  David Baldacci

Pages: 432

Year:  2018

Publisher:  Grand Central

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

What an incredible, heart-grabbing, mind-blowing mystery!  Amos Decker, along with his partner, is supposed to be on vacation at her sister’s place.  Jamison understands Decker’s uniqueness and has a great platonic working relationship with him.  While they are there Decker observes some rather disturbing sights in a house that he runs to investigate.  Jamison knows there goes the vacation as she refuses to sit on the sideline while Amos chases down leads.  Plus, within a short time, the mystery embroils her sister’s family when her husband is killed while at work.

Jamison’s 6-year-old niece loses her father on her birthday and that just grips the heart of Amos in so many ways.  If you have followed the Memory Man series, you know how this touches Amos very deeply and makes him face some of his own personal losses again.  Readers familiar with the uniqueness of how Amos thinks and works will really enjoy the way David Baldacci has Amos going through some neurological changes.  These changes cause Amos to think long term and wonder exactly how long he can keep working without losing what memory he has left.

The ending of the book is very touching, and I absolutely loved the way its is written!  I hope this isn’t the last we see of Decker and Jamison as I enjoy them working together on solving crimes.  Zoe, the little girl in the story, really grabbed my heart and I loved how it drew out the heart of Amos.  The mystery was top notch and many surprises are in store for those who venture into the book.  You don’t want to miss this thriller!

If you haven’t read Amos Decker in the Memory Man series, start with the first book titled, Memory Man and catch up in the series before the next novel is released!

No comments: