Skip to main content

My Heart Belongs in Galveston Texas (Madeline’s Search)

Title:  My Heart Belongs in Galveston Texas (Madeline’s Search)

Author:  Kathleen Y’Barbo

Pages:  256

Year:  2018

Publisher:  Barbour Books

My rating:  5 out of 5 stars

Each novel that is added to the “My Heart Belongs” series seems to be a gem, but this one truly takes the cake!  The novel is fiction, then add a mystery in the mix, a possible romance that was off then well maybe on again, and history and you have the makings of a winner!  The author took great pains to research the history of the place, persons and time period.  We, the readers, get to learn what she learned while preparing for the book at the end of the story though I am sure they aren’t all her notes!

Madeline is part of a family that holds on to the secrets entrusted to them by others, and a certain business is known only by word of mouth.  Madeline loves being a reporter, chasing down stories or answers to any questions that stir her interest.  Now she is teamed up with someone from her past by an older woman who had hired Madeline for a different job.  To understand all of this, you will just have to read the book!

The history is rich and once I started reading there was no putting it down until the very end.  I then read the author’s notes.  I am amazed at how rich in history our nation is and how authors really seek the facts and then weave them into a riveting tale that is outstanding!  Another plus for these books is that they aren’t very lengthy for people with much on their plate.

Grab a copy and then get lost in the mystery and history of Galveston, Texas!

Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. 

Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter@lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…