Skip to main content

The Reckoning at Gossamer Pond

Title:  The Reckoning at Gossamer Pond

Author:  Jaime Jo Wright

Pages:  352

Year:  2018

Publisher:  Bethany House Publishers

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

This story is set in Gossamer Grove, with two stories running simultaneously, one in the present and one in 1907.  In the present, Annalise Forsythe owns a coffee shop and is trying to purchase land to open a food pantry facility as well as offer other services for the homeless.  Her competition wants to use the land to build a sports complex and resort to bring rock climbing enthusiasts to Gossamer Grove.  A big-name draw to help in bringing the rock climbers to the town is Garrett Greenwood, Annalise’s former boyfriend.  They haven’t seen each other in twelve years, and there are definitely old wounds and hard feelings between the two.  Now, they are on opposing sides of this land purchase issue.  An old man in the community dies suddenly, leaving Annalise his property, which amounts to a small amount of land and an old trailer filled with pictures of Annalise at various times in her life, an obituary from 1907, a revival poster from 1907 and pictures of Garrett’s family from the turn of the century.  Why was this man obsessed with Annalise?  She is creeped out but determines to find out who this man was and what information he had uncovered that could possibly link her to the past.  Garrett says he will help her find out what is happening.  Can they get past their wounded hearts and solve the mystery?

In 1907, Libby Sheffield works for and with her father at the local newspaper in Gossamer Grove.  She feels duty-bound to obey her father, even though he sensationalizes the news to sell papers.  She receives an anonymous obituary for a local town member before he dies so she thinks.  She makes a grisly discovery and tries to tell the police about receiving the obituary, but they think she and her father have made that up to sell more newspapers.  She tells Elijah Greenwood, a childhood friend, about her suspicions.  Before they can act, another obituary is dropped off at the newspaper.  This time, they go immediately to the police.  Again, they are rebuffed.  Meanwhile, twin revivalists have staked a tent near Gossamer Pond and are preaching about the dangers of eternity in Hell in a fire and brimstone fashion.  Libby finds one of the twins scary and the other intense, but strangely attractive.  Who is sending these obituaries to her and why?  Do they have anything to do with the revival?

Each story has a mystery, death, secrets and much more.  The characters and the plot will keep readers engaged in the story from beginning to end.  I was drawn in to the story from page one and found myself rapidly turning the pages to see the progress of each story as it built to the apex.  The author writes in the creepy feeling very well, and the mystery element was interesting and captivating.  I couldn’t put it down!
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…