Skip to main content

Sabrina's Man by Gilbert Morris

Title:  Sabrina’s Man (Western Justice #2)
Author:  Gilbert Morris
Pages:  313
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Barbour Publishing
This story is the second book in the Western Justice series with the first book being Rosa’s Land.  It begins in 1864 in Arkansas and continues into 1870 for the biggest portion of the book.  The main characters are Waco Smith, a soldier/outlaw/prisoner and Sabrina Warren, a pampered, rich 24-year-old.  There are some supporting characters, but they don’t really add too much to the plot.
Sabrina is always used to getting her way.  Her younger sister, Marianne, falls in love with a shady character and Sabrina tells her to not see him anymore.  Her sister refuses and runs away with the guy.  Sabrina is convinced she is being held against her will and sets off to rescue her.  She learns they are headed for Oklahoma Indian Territory, so that’s where she goes.  She sees the judge in charge of law enforcement for the area and he has no marshals to spare to help Sabrina rescue her sister.  Waco Smith has done a good turn for the prison warden and he is given a conditional pardon for the rest of his jail time if he will help Sabrina retrieve her sister.  Waco agrees as he has a personal grudge against the man who has taken Marianne.  The journey to rescue Marianne begins, but at what cost?
I didn’t like this book at all except for the descriptions of the western scenery.  The story was disjointed, the characters flat and unlikable and the plot unrealistic.  The main female character is a spoiled brat and I didn’t feel her change genuine.  I’ve read other Gilbert Morris books and enjoyed them, but this one for me was not worth reading.  There is a third book in the series titled, Raina’s Choice, due to be released in June 2014.  I will probably give this author another chance to earn my interest by reading this third book because of his other good books.  I can’t recommend this second book, however.
My rating is 2 stars.

Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…