Skip to main content

Land of Silence

Title:  Land of Silence
Author:  Tessa Afshar
Pages:  390
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from
I am a big fan of Tessa Afshar’s writing as for me she makes stories of the Bible come alive in her fictional tales!  This novel is the fictional account of the woman who had a bleeding disorder for twelve years before Jesus miraculously healed her.
Elianna is the oldest of three children.  When she is around twelve years old, she is charged with looking after her 4-year-old brother.  Her father is busy running his business as a textile dyer and her mother is busy around the house.  Elianna really doesn’t want to watch him, but agrees.  What happens next will change their family forever and cause a rift between Elianna and her father.  She has worked alongside him and now due to his inattention, she takes over his business.
Her betrothed Ethan has been waiting for her to reach an age where they are both ready to marry.  Elianna is finally of age, so Ethan wants to marry.  Elianna has been enjoying the freedom of running her father’s business with Ethan’s help and puts Ethan off.  Events occur that cause Elianna heartache almost beyond bearing, and then the bleeding starts.
I loved Elianna’s work ethic, compassion for others and willingness to sacrifice her wants and needs to provide or protect those she loved.  All of the trials in her life could have caused her to be a very bitter woman, but through the gift of Scripture provided by Gamaliel she feeds her soul with the word of God.  She learns about his character and what He wants for His children.  She has suffered greatly in addition to her bleeding disorder, she is ostracized because she is unclean and she carries a heavy burden of shame and guilt as well as anger before she discovers God in His word.  She is then able to look back at her hardships, see how God was at work and to be faithful in those hardships.  Ethan also was a treasure with his patience, thoughtfulness and protectiveness.  What great lessons for all of us!  I can’t wait to see what Tessa writes next!

The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…