Skip to main content

Promise of Deer Run

Title:  Promise of Deer Run
Author:  Elaine Marie Cooper
Pages:  269
Year:  2011, 2016
Publisher:  CrossRiver
My rating is 4 stars.
Sarah Thomsen has always said what was on her mind and doing what she pleases, like sneaking away to learn at the boys’ school.  This doesn’t always endear her to others in her community.  In book one, Road to Deer Run, she is a precocious 7-year-old.  In this second undertaking, the year is 1790 and she is now 19 years old.  She has lived through the American Revolution, although just a young girl at the time, as well as the rebuilding years following the war.  Colonial life was quite a struggle and not for the faint of heart.  War brought grief and pain to those in the war as well as those left behind at home.  For some of those soldiers in the war, memories and flashbacks (what we now call PTSD) were a fact of life.
Sarah and Nathaniel Stearns have one big thing in common; they both lost their fathers.  Sarah’s father died in a drowning accident shortly before she was born.  Nathaniel’s father was in the war, survived it and told Nathaniel to go on home to check on his mother and siblings.  Nathaniel arrives home to an abandoned house and farm.  There is a letter from his mother, telling him and his father that the youngest son has died and that the rest of the family has moved to Boston to live with relatives.  Nathaniel is grief-stricken at the loss.  Seven years later he remains living alone at the house, waiting for his father to come home.  Nathaniel constantly wonders what could have happened to his father.  He also is grateful for the anonymous person leaving food on his front step.  Who could it be?  As Nathaniel and Sarah forge a friendship, affection begins to develop into something more.  However, there are those that gossip and start rumors.  What is truly going on?  What can be believed?
This is a worthy follow up to book one of the series.  I have recently developed an interest in our country during this time, so this book piqued my interest.  The description of clothing, tasks and domestic chores really made me feel like I was in that time period.  I loved Sarah’s feisty spirit!  I really enjoyed the Author’s Note from both books and the fact that aspects of both stories came from her real life personal history.  Book three in the series, Legacy of Deer Run, is due to be released in December 2016.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…