Skip to main content

: Starving Hearts (Triangular Trade Trilogy)

Title:  Starving Hearts (Triangular Trade Trilogy)
Author:  Janine Mendenhall
Pages:  300
Year: 2016
Publisher: Heritage Beacon Fiction
My rating is 5+ stars.
What heart gripping, nail biting story set in the late 1700’s in England!  For a debut author this work of fiction is such a rare gem normally it stories as well written come from a well seasoned author!  Book #2 will be titled Never Past Hope though I don’t know when it will be published; I none the less cannot wait to continue the story of Miss Annette Chetwynd and Mr. Peter Adsley budding romance and growing faith.
Now the writer includes many Scripture references woven into her characters interaction in their lives.  There is mystery, danger, and a man bent on revenge and nothing will he allow to come between his beloved prize of being a man of means and title.  When trails come into the lives of not just Annette or Peter but others how do the characters respond, or how do they view God?
I loved how the author introduces a historical person known as William Wilberforce and his work to abolish slavery.  Annette’s father is a godly man and he has allowed his daughter an unequivocal education not normally given to women at that time.  Annette has a fiery spirit who loves to talk about all subjects and desires to live outside the mold society or her mother are trying to squeeze her into.
The reason for the title shows up in the story so please watch for it the author did a wonderful job of sharing the message of Christ.  We see a reflection of humanity in the players when they sometimes wonder away from God, question God, and at times when they read the Bible, talk about what they hear Him saying and praying.  Readers will see the reality of how at times it is very hard to trust God when life turns in ways unexpected or when they are harsh and cruel times.
I cannot wait for book #2 or #3 though alas I must, but it is trying!  The novel is so well written I got lost in the story many a time sometimes forgetting to come up for a drink of water! Join me in this exciting story that will eventually cover three novels in total!  You won’t ever be sorry!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…