Skip to main content

Waves of Mercy

Title:  Waves of Mercy
Author:  Lynn Austin
Pages:  379
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Bethany House
My rating is 5 stars.
The story mostly takes place in Holland, Michigan in 1897. The audience will read about Anna Nicholson in 1897 as well as with flashbacks to the past the life of one of the city’s founders.  It is the city’s 50-year anniversary and the town council has asked all the “old-timers”, the people who originally settled in the area, to write about their memories of that time.  Geesje de Jonge is one of the old-timers.  She is at first reluctant to write her story as there are so many tragedies in her life, but receives encouragement and decides to write her story.
Her story begins in the Netherlands in 1845.  She tells of her life in the Netherlands and how she fell in love with a soldier billeted in her home during a fight between Separatists and the government church.  Due to religious persecution, her parents decide to move to America when she is seventeen.  Geesje is heartbroken to leave her soldier behind, but he has eighteen more months to serve in the military before he is discharged.  They make plans for him to join her in America.  Geesje and her parents and her friend Maarten leave for America.  They face tragedy after tragedy on their journey and trying to survive in this new country.  Geesje has had to make difficult decisions throughout her life and writing her memoir is painful, but cathartic for her.
Anna Nicholson is a young socialite from Chicago who has just had her engagement broken by her fiancé due to religious differences.  She has come to Holland for time away and to regain her footing.  She has many questions about her past as she is adopted and many questions about God.  She meets a young man, Derk, who is in seminary school, studying to be a minister.  They strike up a friendship and talk about God, marriage and faith.  Derk suggests she talk with his Aunt Geesje as she has always been a strong woman of faith and maybe could answer her questions better.  They meet and both of their lives will be forever changed.
This is one of those books that touched my heart in a way I’ll not soon forget.  The grief and sorrow and hardships Geesje endured in her life were astounding.  Even though she got angry with God, she made the conscious choice to cling to him more as each tragedy entered her life.  Her husband Maarten was a man after God’s own heart.  Standing outside of their burned down business and home, after losing everything but the clothes on their backs, he praised God.  I am a fan of Lynn Austin’s God-given ability to write such touching stories that show our human frailty, but always point out God’s sovereignty and love for us.  No matter what trials we face, believers never face them alone.  God is always with us.  He will never leave us or forsake us.  Nothing can separate us from His love.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…